1000 Doors for Obama — 1 month, 1000 doors, $5000


1000 (More) Doors for Obama
October 22, 2008, 10:29 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Ok, so we are less than two weeks now away from election day, and I’m already close having hit 700 doors.  I would also predict that I’m probably going to be doubling my efforts over these next two weeks as we hit the final stride in this campaign, so I’m hereby doubling my original goal of 1000 doors, and I will now go for a cool 2000.  

Over the past two weeks, I’ve spoken to hundreds of voters.  Most of them have been extremely nice to me, many of them inviting me into their homes or spending some time having some really intelligent and probing conversations about the state of our country.  A few have been respectful supporters of our opponent, and an even smaller few have been disrespectful, but its a drop in the bucket in the scheme of things.  Going around Durham and speaking to its residents has been a really fun and enlightening experience.  I’ve been to neighborhoods I would have never thought I’d be walking through.  I’ve talked to young African Americans, old white women, hispanic men and women (and brushed up a bit on my spanish in the process), and even a couple of kids who are wishing they were just a couple years older so they too could cast their votes.  I even met a young man who, regrettably, will turn 18 on November 5.  But all of the supporters I’ve talked to had one thing in common, even if they came from radically different backgrounds – they realized the need for us all to recognize as a nation that we have gotten lost in the wilderness, and need to return.

What I’m really trying to say is that this job is easy.

And what I’m really trying to say is that you should try it.

We’ve got just two weeks left to go, and we need that volunteer army.  We need every vote we can muster.  We are not going to let this be a contested election.  We want a runaway.  We want the networks to call the election before our California pals have finished dinner.  We want a 350+ electoral vote win.  We want a convincing popular vote total.  We want to show the world that we have made some mistakes over the last eight years, but we are turning the corner.  We want a 60 seat Senate and an overwhelming House majority.  And the only way to get it is to work.  

So join me on the streets or in the phonebanks.  Contact your local Obama office and tell them you want to help.  If you can’t canvass or make phone calls, drop a donation in my bucket to help fund and feed that volunteer army, or bring a Bojangles Tailgate Special over to your local Obama field office for some overworked organizers.  But whatever you do, don’t sit back and let this go by without playing your part.

Here’s a slideshow of some of my travels and some of the folks I’ve met on the trail… Enjoy.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

