1000 Doors for Obama — 1 month, 1000 doors, $5000


A lofty goal
September 30, 2008, 2:30 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized


Today I’ve launching my own personal campaign to elect Barack Obama the next president.

A few weeks ago, I came up with the longshot idea of taking a leave of absence from my job to spend as much time as possible lending my time and skills to campaigning for the first real political cause I have ever truly believed in.  I pitched the idea to my boss and HR director, and to my surprise (and possibly because they were both sympathetic to the cause), they both agreed.  We got the paperwork going, and a week or so later, I was approved to take an unpaid leave for the month preceding the election.  

So now it’s time to hit the pavement and try to reach my goal:  1 month, 1000 doors, $5000.

My plan for the next month is to knock on 1000 doors and try to raise $5000 dollars for the campaign.  I have a little thermometer widget on the left column of this blog, and I am asking anyone that comes here to sponsor a knock for me.  A single knock sponsorship for a measly $5.  Or sponsor 2, or 10.  Whatever you can throw my way would be incredible, and will keep me motivated to go out each day and hit the streets.

I’ll also be documenting the whole thing here on this blog.  I’ll be carrying my trusty camera with me wherever I go, so I’ll get tons of pictures to post, and maybe a couple political ramblings every now and then in response to the goings-on of the campaign.  A little bit of something for everyone from the insane political junkies like myself to the casual observers.

More to come… stay tuned.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

